Soyuz TMA-18M

SOYUZ TMA-18M was the name of a flight mission to the International Space Station (ISS). It was the 44th visit of a Soyuz spacecraft to the ISS and the 150th flight in the Soyuz programme. The Soyuz spacecraft undocked Soyuz TMA-16M as a crew return vehicle since the Soyuz spacecraft have only a 210-day design life.


On Board

Sergei Volkov, Andreas Mogensen, Aidyn Aimbetov

Rocket type

Soyuz FG

Launch location

Kazakhstan, Baikonur Cosmodrome 45°57′54″N 63°18′18″E

Launch date

2 September 2015

Launch time

04:37:42 UTC



Stage I
Stage I

46 - 85 km

Flight duration

1.58 min


5'616 km/h

Stage II
Stage II

~169 km

Flight duration

4.48 min


13'680 km/h

Stage III
Stage III

207 km

Flight duration

8.49 min


26'964 km/h


Notable Facts
Notable Facts
ISS docking

After a two-day solo flight, the Soyuz TMA-18M coupled with the ISS on 4th September 2015. The usual rendezvous the with ISS - which would take place on the fourth orbit around the Earth following a six-hour flight - could not be carried out, since in August 2015, the ISS had performed an evasive manoeuvre to avoid colliding with space debris. As a result the orbital altitude of the ISS was no longer suitable for an “express flight”.

Short ISS mission

Aimbetow and the Danish ESA astronaut Mogensen completed a short ISS mission and returned to Earth with Soyuz TMA-16M. With his participation in this mission, Mogensen became the first Dane to enter space.

On board ISS

Notable Facts
Notable Facts

This was the first time that a crew member’s stint on the ISS had been extended to approximately a year. In this case, the crew members were Michail Kornijenko und Scott Kelly, and the purpose of their stay was to better study the effects of long-term weightlessness on the body ahead of plans to conduct a manned mission to Mars. The free spot in the Soyuz spacecraft was purchased by space tourist Sarah Brightman, although she was eventually unable to join the flight. Her place was given to Aidyn Aimbetow from Kazakhstan.

Undocking & landing

Russian Search and Rescue teams arrive at the Soyuz TMA-18M spacecraft after it landed.



Before his mission, Danish ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen purchased a Werenbach watch privately and wore it on his journey into space. Since Andreas had no technical defects to report following the flight, Werenbach considered this the first unofficial test of the watch in space.

The Kazak cosmonoaut Aidyn Aimbetow is also the owner of a Werenbach watch. As official ambassador of the Expo 2017 on “Future Energy”, he received it as gift following his mission.

It’s because of this that Werenbach has engraved the mission name SOYUZ TMA-18M on all of its watches up to the year 2017.

No material from this rocket was recovered.

Expedition 45
Russia Denmark Kazakhstan

Soyuz TMA-18M

By browsing our website, you agree to us using cookies, read here for more information.


  • Flag Afghanistan Afghanistan
  • Flag Albania Albania
  • Flag Algeria Algeria
  • Flag Andorra Andorra
  • Flag Antigua and Barbuda Antigua and Barbuda
  • Flag Argentina Argentina
  • Flag Armenia Armenia
  • Flag Australia Australia
  • Flag Austria Austria
  • Flag Azerbaijan Azerbaijan
  • Flag Bahamas Bahamas
  • Flag Bahrain Bahrain
  • Flag Bangladesh Bangladesh
  • Flag Barbados Barbados
  • Flag Belarus Belarus
  • Flag Belgium Belgium
  • Flag Belize Belize
  • Flag Benin Benin
  • Flag Bhutan Bhutan
  • Flag Bolivia Bolivia
  • Flag Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Flag Botswana Botswana
  • Flag Brazil Brazil
  • Flag Brunei Brunei
  • Flag Bulgaria Bulgaria
  • Flag Burkina Faso Burkina Faso
  • Flag Burundi Burundi
  • Flag Cambodia Cambodia
  • Flag Cameroon Cameroon
  • Flag Canada Canada
  • Flag Cape Verde Cape Verde
  • Flag Central African Republic Central African Republic
  • Flag Chad Chad
  • Flag Chile Chile
  • Flag China China
  • Flag Colombia Colombia
  • Flag Comoros Comoros
  • Flag Costa Rica Costa Rica
  • Flag Croatia Croatia
  • Flag Cuba Cuba
  • Flag Cyprus Cyprus
  • Flag Czech Republic Czech Republic
  • Flag Denmark Denmark
  • Flag Djibouti Djibouti
  • Flag Dominica Dominica
  • Flag Dominican Republic Dominican Republic
  • Flag Ecuador Ecuador
  • Flag Egypt Egypt
  • Flag El Salvador El Salvador
  • Flag Equatorial Guinea Equatorial Guinea
  • Flag Eritrea Eritrea
  • Flag Estonia Estonia
  • Flag Ethiopia Ethiopia
  • Flag Fiji Fiji
  • Flag Finland Finland
  • Flag France France
  • Flag Gabon Gabon
  • Flag Gambia Gambia
  • Flag Georgia Georgia
  • Flag Germany Germany
  • Flag Ghana Ghana
  • Flag Greece Greece
  • Flag Grenada Grenada
  • Flag Guam Guam
  • Flag Guatemala Guatemala
  • Flag Guinea Guinea
  • Flag Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau
  • Flag Haiti Haiti
  • Flag Honduras Honduras
  • Flag Hong Kong Hong Kong
  • Flag Hungary Hungary
  • Flag Iceland Iceland
  • Flag India India
  • Flag Indonesia Indonesia
  • Flag Iran Iran
  • Flag Iraq Iraq
  • Flag Ireland Ireland
  • Flag Israel Israel
  • Flag Italy Italy
  • Flag Jamaica Jamaica
  • Flag Japan Japan
  • Flag Jordan Jordan
  • Flag Kazakhstan Kazakhstan
  • Flag Kenya Kenya
  • Flag Kiribati Kiribati
  • Flag Kuwait Kuwait
  • Flag Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan
  • Flag Laos Laos
  • Flag Latvia Latvia
  • Flag Lebanon Lebanon
  • Flag Lesotho Lesotho
  • Flag Liberia Liberia
  • Flag Libya Libya
  • Flag Liechtenstein Liechtenstein
  • Flag Lithuania Lithuania
  • Flag Luxembourg Luxembourg
  • Flag Madagascar Madagascar
  • Flag Malawi Malawi
  • Flag Malaysia Malaysia
  • Flag Maldives Maldives
  • Flag Mali Mali
  • Flag Malta Malta
  • Flag Marshall Islands Marshall Islands
  • Flag Mauritania Mauritania
  • Flag Mauritius Mauritius
  • Flag Mexico Mexico
  • Flag Moldova Moldova
  • Flag Monaco Monaco
  • Flag Mongolia Mongolia
  • Flag Montenegro Montenegro
  • Flag Morocco Morocco
  • Flag Mozambique Mozambique
  • Flag Myanmar Myanmar
  • Flag Namibia Namibia
  • Flag Nauru Nauru
  • Flag Nepal Nepal
  • Flag Netherlands Netherlands
  • Flag New Zealand New Zealand
  • Flag Nicaragua Nicaragua
  • Flag Niger Niger
  • Flag Nigeria Nigeria
  • Flag North Macedonia North Macedonia
  • Flag Norway Norway
  • Flag Oman Oman
  • Flag Pakistan Pakistan
  • Flag Panama Panama
  • Flag Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea
  • Flag Paraguay Paraguay
  • Flag Peru Peru
  • Flag Philippines Philippines
  • Flag Poland Poland
  • Flag Portugal Portugal
  • Flag Qatar Qatar
  • Flag Romania Romania
  • Flag Rwanda Rwanda
  • Flag Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Flag Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Flag Samoa Samoa
  • Flag San Marino San Marino
  • Flag Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia
  • Flag Senegal Senegal
  • Flag Serbia Serbia
  • Flag Seychelles Seychelles
  • Flag Sierra Leone Sierra Leone
  • Flag Singapore Singapore
  • Flag Slovakia Slovakia
  • Flag Slovenia Slovenia
  • Flag Solomon Islands Solomon Islands
  • Flag Somalia Somalia
  • Flag South Africa South Africa
  • Flag South Korea South Korea
  • Flag South Sudan South Sudan
  • Flag Spain Spain
  • Flag Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
  • Flag Sudan Sudan
  • Flag Suriname Suriname
  • Flag Swaziland Swaziland
  • Flag Sweden Sweden
  • Flag Switzerland Switzerland
  • Flag Syria Syria
  • Flag Taiwan Taiwan
  • Flag Tajikistan Tajikistan
  • Flag Tanzania Tanzania
  • Flag Thailand Thailand
  • Flag Togo Togo
  • Flag Tonga Tonga
  • Flag Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago
  • Flag Tunisia Tunisia
  • Flag Turkey Turkey
  • Flag Turkmenistan Turkmenistan
  • Flag Uganda Uganda
  • Flag Ukraine Ukraine
  • Flag United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates
  • Flag United Kingdom (UK) United Kingdom (UK)
  • Flag United States (US) United States (US)
  • Flag Uruguay Uruguay
  • Flag Uzbekistan Uzbekistan
  • Flag Vanuatu Vanuatu
  • Flag Venezuela Venezuela
  • Flag Vietnam Vietnam
  • Flag Yemen Yemen
  • Flag Zambia Zambia
  • Flag Zimbabwe Zimbabwe